Strawberry Spinach Salad – My Favorite Lunch

Fruit on a salad?  I used to crinkle my nose and say, “no thanks” while thinking, you mix fruits and veggies?  Gross!  That was me before I actually tried it.  Just like the time I finally tried sour cream in college and discovered that  I actually liked it.  Oops. I missed out on numerous years of not having sour cream with my nachos.  Bummer.  I feared what I didn’t know (and still do actually!).  So anyway, I tried a spinach salad with strawberries, almonds, blue cheese, and balsamic vinegerette.  I fell in love and have been eating it ever since.  This was at least 8 years ago and I’m still feeling the love.  In fact it is my favorite lunch and I promise I’m not just saying this.  I eat it whenever I have all the ingredients in the house (which I usually do).  It takes me minutes to make and I’ve gotten so I’m not picky about what I put in it.  I use whatever cheese is in the house.  It is usually sharp cheddar cut into little bit-size pieces, feta, or blue cheese.  I love cheese.  I’ve used pears, apples, and even grapes to top my salad.  I have discovered that grapes and strawberries are pretty tasty.

Here is my recipe:

Organic Baby Spinach

Strawberries (or another fruit)

Blue Cheese (or another kind)

Sliced Almonds ( my husband prefers toasted, but I don’t have the patience or time to do this daily).

Balsamic Vinaigrette (I have fallen in love with Simply Natural Organic Balsamic Vinaigrette with extra virgin olive oil that I buy at BJ’s Wholesale-so yummy).  I’ve also used Newman’s Own.

And that is it.  Very easy and so healthy for you too.  Don’t be scared, try it!

Image

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Spinach Salad – My Favorite Lunch

  1. Pingback: House-Smoked Almonds (And A California Salad) « Putney Farm

Leave a Reply

